Skip to Content
Serving Los Angeles County and the Greater Southern California Area
Se Habla Español
(310) 361-3068

What happens after a Torrance DUI Arrest?


In this short video, Robert Ernenwein, a Torrance DUI Attorney with 30+ years of experience defending clients accused of DUI, discusses what happens after a Torrance DUI Arrest. Topics include:

  • What happens after I have been arrested for DUI?
  • Do I need to appear in court?
  • What are the consequences of being convicted of DUI?
  • Am I looking at jail time after being arrested for DUI?
  • Does it matter if I have multiple DUI convictions?

To learn more about our DUI Defense practice, visit the following pages:

Send us an e-mail or call us today at (310) 361-3068 if you have been charged with DUI in the South Bay.

Click HERE to learn more about Ernenwein.

Transcript – What happens after a Torrance DUI Arrest?

If you have been arrested for driving under the influence or driving with a .08 or greater blood alcohol level, you have likely be given a citation to appear in court. Generally, on a first, second and even perhaps a third offense case, all misdemeanors, our office can appear on your behalf of the arraignment and pretrial appearances and in many cases you may not need to appear in court at all.

What are the consequences of driving under the influence case in California? Generally speaking, for a first-offense case:

  • An alcohol program will be required. Either three, six or nine months in length that can be negotiated.
  • A fine of approximately eighteen hundred dollars
  • Attendance in a Mothers Against Drunk Driving victim impact panel
  • In Los Angeles County the possibility of attendance at what was commonly referred to as a hospital and mourn program
  • Three years of summary or informal probation
  • Jail time and community service are always possibilities in your case, again subject to negotiation.

On a second or third-offense case, mandatory jail applies. 96 hours in a second offense case to 120 days in a third offense case with all of the other conditions that are imposed in a first offense case, increased by the length of the alcohol program from 18 months to 30 months.

In cases involving a fourth offense within 10 years, imprisonment in the Department of Corrections for up to three years is possible.

In cases involving death or serious injury, imprisonment in the Department of Corrections is a possibility.

Cases that involve serious traffic collisions, with serious injuries or deaths, are treated much more seriously by the court system. In such cases, it’s very important to have counsel assist you in these matters.

Whether your case involves a simple first-offender program, involves a second or third offense and perhaps involves a felony DUI charge, call our office so that we can arrange for a free consultation to discuss your case with you and begin to arrange a defense for you.

Share To: